About Contact DonateGet Involved

West Sider of the Year: Nominations Open!

Nominate your favorite inspirational West Sider for the 2017 West Sider of the Year Award!  Nominations due December 1st!! 

Please make nominations HERE.

The West Sider of the Year is awarded annually by WSCO (West Side Community Organization) to a West Side resident. Past recipients have:
-- worked with other residents on behalf of the West Side
-- regularly volunteered on the West Side or to the benefit of West Side residents
-- provided significant leadership on a major issue or activity during the past year (or, over a series of years)
-- made valuable contributions to the West Side

The 2017 West Sider of the Year will be announced at WSCO's Annual Meeting on Friday, December 8th, 2017. The event will take place in the El Rio Vista Recreation Center Gymnasium starting at 6:00pm.

BEFORE YOU NOMINATE, please observe the following rules:
-- past recipients are not eligible to receive the award
-- current WSCO staff and board members are not eligible to receive the award
-- the award is given to an individual, not an organization or business

Nominations must be received no later than December 4th to be included in the voting. The West Sider of the Year is selected from the pool of nominations y the WSCO board.

Past Recipients Include:

1977 Elaine Saline
1978 Frank Rodriguez
1979 Judy Schaughnessy
1980 Peggy Foster
1981 Ralph Brown
1982 Herb Dalglish
1983 Jim Scheibel
1984 Bill Kuehn
1985 Harlan Barry
1986 West Side Church Community
1987 Sister Giovanni
1988 Marjorie Neihart
1989 Betty Greencrow
1990 Thor Nielsen
1991 Fr. Steve Adrian
1992 Gilbert De La O
1993 Patti Tototzintle
1994 Don Luna
1995 Florine Frishckorn
1996 Isabel Chanslor
1997 Don Demarest
1998 Irene Josephs,
Gene Josephs, &
David Valazquez
1999 Dorothy Newcomb
2000 Madlyn Nocolay
2001 Brian Miller
2002 Pang Lee &
Long Vang
2003 Sheila Wood
2004 Ella Thayer
2005 Anne Hunt
2006 Carol Swenson
2007 Craig David
2008 Catalina (Cat) Adamez-Smith and Adele (Dee Dee) Adamez-Randle
2009 Hokan Miller
2010 Maureen Hark, Debbie Luna
2011 Jon Kerr, Grit Youngquist
2012 Gjerry Berquist
2013 Don Oberdorfer
2014 Jackie Borgan
2015 Rev. Tim Johnson
2016 Jalil Shabazz


Please make nominations HERE.